Home | About Us | The Committee | Contact Us

The Committee

The Briercliffe Society Committee Members

John Bentley BA.


John is a distinguished local historian with publications on Wycollar, Brierfield and Ingleton in particular. He served in the military and is a retired teacher. John has also served as Chairman of the Society in previous years.

Roger Barstow Frost MBE., MA., FRSA

Chairman Elect and Publicity

Roger Frost is the historian of Briercliffe though he has also published on Burnley. He is the immediate past Mayor of Burnley and is a member of the Burnley Borough Council and Chairman of Briercliffe Parish Council. Another of his interests is the environment and he served as Chairman of the successful Millennium Forest of Burnley Project. He is a retired teacher. Roger is the current Chairman of the Society and also acts as Publicity Officer. He was appointed MBE in 2000.

Stephanie Sutcliffe

Honorary Treasurer

A teacher, Stephanies family have had a long association with Briercliffe.

Susan Meeks

Honorary Secretary

Susan Meeks is also very much involved in Briercliffe organisations. She represents the Society on the Flower Show Committee and is Deputy Chairman of the Community Centre Association.

Pauline Frost Hardwick


Pauline Frost Hardwick undertakes the important work of finding speakers for the Society’s monthly meetings which are held in the Community Centre.

Carol Bentley

Committee Member

Married to John, above, Carol is a former teacher and very much involved with the Briercliffe Art Group

Ruth Eastwood

Committee Member

Formerly our Honorary Treasurer

Barbara Holsgrove

Committee Member

Formerly our Speakers Secretary

Gwen Farmer

Committee Member

Malcolm Higgin

Committee Member

Malcolm has accepted an invitation to rejoin the Committee. This is a welcome return
The Briercliffe Society © 2007-2017. All Rights Reserved.